Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 04:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

drywalling my basement


I am having my basement drywalled and they will seal off the doorway to the rest of house which is supposed to help contain the dust to some degree. However, would it also help on the upper floors if I sealed all the forced air registers and the cold air returns? I would shut the furnace down during the entire time. Would it also make sense to have the ducts cleaned when they are done?

thanks for any help/advice you could give me.

maljeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 677
Rewards Points: 500
Default

drywalling my basement


yes that would definitley help sealing off the ducts. and plastic off the furnance. if you are really worried about dust then i'd try tracking down an air scrubber. im not sure if home depot or a rental company would have one but a restortation company definitley would and they would probably be more then happy to rent one out to you.

princelake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:43 PM   #3
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,856
Rewards Points: 2,360
Default

drywalling my basement


As long as you remember to shut off the furnace you will not need to close off all of the registers up stairs-

Do change the filters several times during the construction--

If you are about due for a duct cleaning--go for it.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:34 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

drywalling my basement


Use a box fan (blowing out) with a furnace filter in front (to save the motor and neighbors) in a basement window for a negative air pressure down there. Cardboard around it to air-seal. Crack open some various upstairs windows for make-up supply air flow.

Gary
P.S. Hope you air-sealed all holes through basement ceiling from wiring/plumbing.....
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over insulate basement? braverichard Building & Construction 26 06-22-2010 08:26 PM
Thoughts and ideas basement finishing and HVAC creamaster HVAC 1 03-10-2010 07:46 PM
basement subpanel suggestions/advice desired ScottsName Electrical 4 02-26-2009 06:38 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM
Basement - need to bust up about 1 ft deeper FallenAngel Building & Construction 7 08-15-2007 09:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.