Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-11-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
Noob

Rewards Points: 10

Is this drywall still usable with a skim coat & prime, or I need new one?

Howdy all,

First post on the DIY forum... We just bought a house (yey!) It's about 30 years old, the bedroom is covered with outdated wallpaper, we are planning on remove all wallpaper and put on some good quality paint. After tearing half of the wall in one bedroom, I find that there are plenty mildew growing there, and some of the top surface of drywall got peeled off with wallpaper.

Previous owner apparently just taped tearing wallpaper using packing tape and left the mildew problem there untreated...

Can I just skim coat the old drywall with dry wall compound and prime it to seal what's under and then paint, or do I need to actually tear the old drywall and install a new one? (I'm a novice at home improvement and never installed any drywall before.)

Is it necessary to kill the mold first (with a good sponge&wipe with bleach and water mix) or can I just skim coat it directly without worrying the mold?

(Tested for lead and the drywall is leadfree.)

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by lifan; 10-11-2012 at 10:17 AM.
lifan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 10:40 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 4,152

You could just kill the mold and skim coat it but it would not address why it's molding up.
You have one of several possible things going on behind that wall.
If it was mine I'd be removing all the dry wall under the window to see if it's the window leaking from outside, poor or no insulation, condinsation because the windows only single pane and the house is to moist ECT.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
Noob

Rewards Points: 10