Drywall Problem - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-20-2008, 11:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Drywall Problem

I have a problem with the newer plastic corner beading. I have a 45 degree corner beading made of plastic which has seperated from the wall along with other seperation of paper. My question is how to handle this repair? Should it be removed completly or just to the area of seperation and then be replaced with meash fiberglass tape?

Advertisement

charlie C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 08:57 AM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

Rewards Points: 2,000

Drywall Problem

It can sometimes be re-applied.

Examples: Adhesive spray, use blue masking tape to hold it in place until the adhesive sets. Then re-coat as needed..

Advertisement

Old 06-21-2008, 08:25 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500

Drywall Problem

i'd take it out, screw on the metal corner piece, then skim durabond over it, then two coats of joint compound, then repaint.
wombosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 09:31 PM   #4

Drywall Problem

The problem with me trying to use a metal beading, is there is no backing support on the back of the drywall at the 45 degree corner. can the metal beading be put in place with liquid nail? Or maybe just using a meash tape on the 45 degree corner? Thanks to all for your help, I like this idea of bouncing ideas around and getting many different idea. THANKS
Old 06-21-2008, 09:38 PM   #5

Drywall Problem

hm, i may not be an expert on drywall, but without a backing for the corner, the corner bead seams a bit redundant.

to do this right, you really need to strip the drywall entirely off of that corner, put in some nailer blocks as needed, then screw on new drywall.