Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 08:56 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


We have a typical cape with a stairwell added on the back for access to the second floor. It is not heeated, so I'm putting up rigid foam - Dow's blueboard - over new batts in 2x4 walls. When I say "over," I mean that the foam extends full across the interior and not in between the studs or rafters.

I'd like to put the drywall right over the foam...will that work?

I concerned that, since the foam is less dense than wooden studs, the drywall will crater as screws grab the wood and pull the drywall snug to the foam. I've seen and heard of strapping being put over the foam, but I really want to avoid another step if it's possible.

Thanks very much!

michael76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 10:05 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


Foamboard shouldn't be installed on the interior side of the studs. Your concerns about attachment of the rock are justified. Foamboard is installed on the exterior side beneath the siding.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 11:52 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


I'm getting completely different opinions on this...
so I took some extra 1.5" foam and 3/8 drywall and did a test run, and it seem to be fine. Assuming we take care in securing the drywall, I think it will work out. Any reason to think otherwise??

I attached a photo of the test.
Attached Thumbnails
Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?-drywall.blbd.jpg  
michael76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 12:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 62
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


Interesting project. I would have originally said do something else, but it's cool that you tried it and it appears to have worked okay.

My concern now would be the joints. I think if you make sure that the seams of the foam DO NOT align near the seams of the drywall you might just be fine.

So what do you figure you have, somewhere around R20 when combined with the batts? It also sealed all your joints... added bonus!
Ininkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 01:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


My boss, a former builder and energy auditor, suggested this method...Ininkus, what would you have suggested? Always looking for other ideas.

Seems will be offset...foam seams sealed with spray foam and tape.
Yes, on the R-20, plus air barrier.
michael76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:15 PM   #6
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


If you continue installing sheetrock over rigid foam board, I guarantee that the screws will pop, and the seams will crack.

The other option is to build the walls out using strapping or studs,(as you stated). You can do this horizontally or vertically, and install the rigid foam between.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:26 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


To expand on what Atlantic said, you could add 2x2 furring strips to each stud and secure the rock to that. The insulation would of course have to be cut into strips to fit between the studs.

Sorry, but you shouldn't trust your former boss on this one.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 03:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


The space isn't heated?

how are you going to do your outlets?
sunthas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 07:47 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


I am in the process of doing exactly what Michael76 described.
I don't understand why the screws could pop or the taped seems might separate.
The foam board will first be fastened to the 2x4 studs with nails that have a large plastic washer.
3" drywall screws will be used to fasten the 1/2" drywall boards through the 1 1/2" foam board into the studs on 16" centers (which will be marked on the floor).
Going right across the studs, rather than going in between, prevents thermal bridging by the studs and should be better than going in between.
I already have pink insulation between the studs right now.
I am removing the original vapor barrier covering the fiberglass insulation
before I will put the foam board on.

The electrical boxes are a bit of a problem, but there are a few options here, too.
An electrician told me I can just use longer #6-32 screws and mount the actual outlets (or switches) right against the drywall, leaving the box where it is. If the wire in the box has not been left long enough, pigtails can just get maretted onto them.
I don't like this too much, since I think over time the outlets and switches might wiggle loose rubbing on the drywall.

Since I work in a machine shop, I cut a small steel plate, the hight of the electrical box and about 4 1/2" long and riveted it to the side of an electrical box.
Now I can fasten this plate to the stud, bringing my box out to 1/2" proud of the foam board.
I thought another option could be by just fastening a 1 1/2" strip of wood on top of the stud where the box is mounted right now and just bringing the box forward to the proper depth.
Of course the foam board will have to be cleared for that.

Has anyone done something similar to this or see problems with it?
Michael 76, how did your job turn out?
photopeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:13 AM   #10
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


I've done exactly what you are thinking about----never had a call back,or a crack---
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:56 AM   #11
Phoenix
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 79
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


I wouldn't go with just putting longer 6/32's in, to me that's just a little too sloppy. I would use wood to attach the electric box to & i'd extend it out to where the box should be sitting if things were normal. Like 1/8 back from the face of where your drywall will sit. I'm thinking maybe take a 2 X 6 & nail the plastic box to it at the proper distance for the drywall & then sink 3 or 4 --- 3 inch screws on the back of the 2 X 6 to the 2 X 4. That should be nice & sturdy & solve your problem with only a little extra work.

Sometimes its hard to explain things with a keyboard, i hope what i just tried to explain makes sense
Axecutioner-B is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Axecutioner-B For This Useful Post:
photopeter (11-29-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 11:42 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


It's almost 2 years from my original post, and the spaces (2nd floor and stairway) have been completed for almost that much time.

I ended putting up 1/2" drywall directly over foam (blue XPS) in 2 ways:

1. On most of the 2nd floor ceiling, I put the drywall directly over the foam.

Result:In these sections (about 500 sf), there's maybe 8 screws popping.

2. For the stairway walls and ceiling, I ripped 3/8" ply into 2" strips and went over 1" and 1.5" foam. I kept the strips right over the studs/rafters because -- strips were flimsy (they needed support and wouldn't alone hold drywall); and, to keep my head clear on where romex traveled behind the foam. To secure the drywall, I went thru the strips and foam with screws long enough to give me at least 1/2" grab in studs/rafters.

Result: Over about 650 sf, no screws popping - yet.

This project was my first time doing ANY kind of remodel work, so I think part of the screws popping is my poor job on improving existing framing, hanging drywall, and taping/mudding.

That said, from my experience and the results so far I would follow advice of other posters - and general online GC advice - and put up some decent furring. I didn't do so because I was trying to lower ceilings no more than I had to.

photopeter -- On the electrical boxes, I found boxes that can be mounted to the stud and adjusted by a machine screw to whatever depth you want. They were able to reach flush thru 1.5" foam and drywall. Just don't make my mistake and get the cheap elec. boxes made of plastic. Use the metal or fiberglass (?) ones, or whatever other recommend.

The whole idea was insulation, and that's been a big improvement. The spaces are warmer, holding the heat better, and far fewer air leaks than before.
michael76 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to michael76 For This Useful Post:
Axecutioner-B (11-29-2010), photopeter (11-29-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 12:26 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


It makes perfect sense and sounds like a good and sturdy solution.
Thanks!
photopeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:53 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


i was going to do this for my 1 storey and half in canada. i bought this house and found out no insulation in the attic (well the guy put the insulation fibreglass directly on the roof, wich was pretty bad for moisture and the insulation wasnt doing what it was supposed to do).

i currently was able to push some foam trough the rafters from the storage side to the begining of the attic where its not accessible but now i find that i still need to put more than the 2 inch foam board. so im wondering
1. how i can attach another 2 inch foam board, reflectix and dry wall to the current drywall or
2. if i have to get rid of the current drywall and what type of fasteners i should be using, i dont mind the extra steps if necessary but its a bedroom right now and it needs to be done soon because we're freezing!
any other options would be appreciated thanks
stephen1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 01:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kelowna B.|C.
Posts: 138
Default

Drywall over 1-1.5" rigid foam?


Sounds like you did a good job. the foam covering the studs has eliminated thermal bridging. It is also psi rated so screwing the drywall on top should not compress the foam

masterofall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating Basement w/ Rigid Foam and Batt Reilley Building & Construction 4 08-03-2013 10:07 PM
Using rigid foil faced foam insulation Ronnie1a Remodeling 1 01-22-2008 01:23 PM
Best Ext. Sheathing: Rigid Foam An Option? austinbirdman Building & Construction 3 12-15-2006 09:02 AM
Rigid foam as floor insulation rkhpapa Building & Construction 3 09-24-2006 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.