Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 02:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


We have a contractor hanging drywall working at our house that missed a cut on an electrical outlet by about 1 1/2 inches. His solution is to put a wood backing behind the hole and fill it with Durabond. Will this work or is it going to crumble in a year? Any drywall pros out there that can answer me?

ccoulter350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


durabond should work, would have liked some tape in there

__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


Thanks for the reply.
ccoulter350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Smile

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


I would put wood backing behind it, then put a new piece of sheet rock on there. Then tape it just like you would any other seam. You never want a load of mud anywhere. That's taking the easy way out, and yes, it will crack. Once your house moves or shifts the tiniest bit, it will crack around the edges, and if the mud is thick enough, it will crack right through the middle of the patch. Trust me, have it done the right way just put a piece of sheetrock in there, cut it back a couple inches if need be.
Addamroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


and make sure he's using Durabond or a similar product! (not pre-mixed compound)

_pete
__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 06:35 AM   #6
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


Its all set = no worries.

That's the proper and typical way we patch that type of hole.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 12:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Drywall - Durabond for patching a hole


agree 100% no problem...

OP if this is the biggest problem you have seen with this project... this guy is doing a great job...

Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Framing for drywall under Spiral staircase clemon03 Drywall & Plaster 6 07-17-2009 03:49 PM
How to patch hole in duct work and drill new one? Studly HVAC 10 03-03-2009 09:26 AM
A Hole to Nowhere fw2007 Electrical 12 03-24-2008 10:28 AM
Making an 8" hole in the brick Hushpuppy Building & Construction 6 11-28-2006 07:17 AM
I hope I don't have to tear down the ceiling brds16 Carpentry 9 04-30-2005 10:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.