Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-30-2008, 06:07 AM   #1

Send a message via AIM to Matt989
Share |

drywall in basement

Hi all,

Ok I'm gonna be as clear as I can be. I am a first time homeowner and wanted to make my basement my game/nascar room.
I have poured concrete walls and want to finish it with drywall. I am gonna use 2x2's to build the frame, but heres how it goes.
I was gonna attach the top boards to the boards up top but cannot due to water pipes, main water supply so on and so forth. so i have to drop it down about 2.5-3 inches from that so what im gonna ask is this.

How should i attach those 2x2's to the concrete wall? ive heard screwing or nailing them in the wall is a very bad thing, but will construction adhesive work? I am very new at this so i hope i explained it good enough.

thanks everyone

Matt

Matt989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 06:11 AM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler

drywall in basement

First off, a 2x2 is actually 1.5" x 1.5", and I wouldn't recommend that you use such for framing even partition walls (too flimsy). Even if you were referring to literall 2"x2", I'd recommend against it. Use minimum 2x3.

Secondly, I would not recommend installing directly to the concrete wall. Build your walls approximately 2" away from your foundation walls to allow for air-flow/air-circulation. Concrete is pourous and contains moisture. You do not want to install anything against it that can breed mold or trap moisture (wood, sheetrock, insulation, etc).

There are ways to install walls, even with pipes overhead. Example: Build a soffit around the pipes, and attach your wall to that...

Last edited by AtlanticWBConst.; 08-30-2008 at 06:13 AM.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 06:12 AM   #3