Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-16-2011, 01:08 PM   #1

Share |

Ceiling crack repair

Hi - I'm pretty new at doing any kind of drywall repairs and I'm trying to repair a crack that runs along the length of my ceiling.

When I scraped off some compound, I found and pulled off two layers of mesh tape (a repair and original) that looks like they had both failed. There's a good sized gap in compound now, and I'm not sure how to proceed here and don't want to make a (bigger) mess. Do I need to scrape off all of the compound to the drywall, or can I put in a thin layer of it to level it out before taping again?

Here's a couple of pics to show what I mean, any help is really appreciated.

danzik17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 01:19 PM   #2
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Ceiling crack repair

I'd like to help.

But I have been recently seeing so many of these posts with 1 single entry on the count that it makes me doubt sincerity.

How about posting one more time so we know you're for real?

Willie T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 01:22 PM   #3

Ceiling crack repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie T View Post
I'd like to help.

But I have been recently seeing so many of these posts with 1 single entry on the count that it makes me doubt sincerity.

How about posting one more time so we know you're for real?
Hah, not a problem

I'm actually just hanging out at the moment while I'm trying to get a hold of someone (or get a response here). I have no idea if I'm doing the right things, so I'm trying to find out before I go and make a really huge mess.
Old 10-16-2011, 09:29 PM   #4

Ceiling crack repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by danzik17 View Post
Hah, not a problem