Can This Hole Help Me Decipher This Wall? - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-23-2016, 08:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Can this hole help me decipher this wall?

I bought a house that the previous owners ignored and am determined to learn how to fix everything in it. But I'm new at it, and don't know anything yet. I'm hoping to use the brains in this forum to guide me.

1) Here's a picture of a hole in a wall. From this picture, can anyone tell me what my walls are made of? I assume the crumbly stuff is plaster (house was built in 1894) but not sure what the outer "layer" is.

2) What's the best way to fix this hole? It was caused by the wrong kind of fastener to put up a shelf.

3) The wall is textured and a color I don't like. How much work will it be to get rid of the texture and repaint, and how do I go about doing it?

Many thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Can this hole help me decipher this wall?-hole-wall.jpg  

Advertisement

LouGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2016, 11:32 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,084

Re: Can this hole help me decipher this wall?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LouGreen View Post
I bought a house that the previous owners ignored and am determined to learn how to fix everything in it. But I'm new at it, and don't know anything yet. I'm hoping to use the brains in this forum to guide me.

1) Here's a picture of a hole in a wall. From this picture, can anyone tell me what my walls are made of? I assume the crumbly stuff is plaster (house was built in 1894) but not sure what the outer "layer" is.

2) What's the best way to fix this hole? It was caused by the wrong kind of fastener to put up a shelf.

3) The wall is textured and a color I don't like. How much work will it be to get rid of the texture and repaint, and how do I go about doing it?