Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2011, 10:26 PM   #1

Share |

Best way to install drywall on uneven ceiling

Hi all !

I am currently finishing my basement and it's my first time installing drywall. I am currently doing the ceiling and the fact that my ceiling is not perfectly square is posing me two problems that I am unsure how to solve.

First, here is the situation: My ceiling has 2 short sides of 118" and two long sides of 162" but the corners are not fully square (see attached picture).

Question 1. Because of the uneven corners, after installing the first row of drywall across the short side, I end up with a 1.5" gap on one side (see picture). The drywall is mounted on resilient channels and the gap between wall and ceiling is mean to be around 1/4 of an inch and sealed with acoustic caulk. 1.5" is a bit a stretch to caulk but aside from cutting the gyprock in a weird shape and starting over or mudding part of the gap I don't know what I could do.

Question 2: Since the long side is 162 inches, I end up needing just over 4 sheets of drywall. Should I leave a 0.5 gap between each row to avoid having 5 (I plan on doing the joints myself) or should I do 5 rows ? In the later case, it seems like a bad Idea to end up with a 2 inch row but to finish with a larger piece would mean cutting to factory edge of a piece and ending up with a long butt joint (or starting over and cutting the factory side that meets the wall). What is the best way to go here ?

Hopefully this is clear, else I'll gladly give more detail.

Thanks !

Edit: Note that the gap on the picture is exaggerated.
Attached Images

Fred_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:33 PM   #2
Military Mom of 4