Am I Drilling Into Plaster And Lathe? - Drywall & Plaster - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-14-2012, 11:44 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Am I drilling into plaster and lathe?

All I wanted to do was hang some curtains. I've got a cheap mounting kit from Target, with screws and plastic anchors and I started drilling a 3/16" hole in the wall. I got about half an inch in with no problem and then I hit something hard. It doesn't feel like metal, but then I have limited experience with these sorts of things. I'm drilling close to the window, so I assume I may have hit wood of some kind. The drill bit got stuck at first and I had to switch it to drill in reverse to get it out. I'm just using a basic black and decker drill/driver set that claims to be multipurpose for wood/metal/plastic.

I'm hesitant to push harder and keep drilling because I have no idea what I'm dealing with. There are no electrical plugs on this wall, but there is a baseboard heating unit beneath the window. I think I'm working with plaster and lathe walls, since it's a very old triple-decker home outside of Boston, built around 1900. Here's what a crawl space on my floor looks like; the wall I'm drilling into is the one on the far end. The walls are uneven in places, like they were plastered over something. I understand that it can be quite difficult to locate studs in plaster walls, but I've hit something that won't give easily, and now I'm stumped as to how to proceed.