Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Drywall & Plaster

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-21-2011, 09:54 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

alligator and flaking paint

I have a skylight in our master bathroom and the paint on the drywall is flaking. It appears that when I scrape the parts that are flaking that I am getting down to the cardboard face of the drywall. Apparently this is not green board so anything special.

What would be your recommendation to repair this? I am concerned that if I just scrape what is peeling now and then paint, there will be other sections that begin to peel later. Should I consider the dirty and consuming job of ripping out all of this sheetrock and replacing it altogether? I hope not but I want it done right.

I also have similar alligator or flaking paint in our other hall bathroom. Any recommendations for this?

Attached are pictures of the skylight problem as well as the other bathroom.

Thank you!

alligator and flaking paint-img_1867.jpg

alligator and flaking paint-img_1866.jpg

4x15mph2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:05 AM   #2

Here is the other bathroom picture with the alligator paint.

alligator and flaking paint-img_1869.jpg

Old 08-21-2011, 10:17 AM   #3
NACE Coating Inspector

looks lke you may have a possible roof leak or improperly installed insulation/vapor barrier at the vertical framing leading up to the shylight.
mustangmike3789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:28 AM   #4

Could this just be a matter of moisture in the bathroom with the wrong kind or older paint? This is a 1989 built house

What should I do next?

If I wanted to have a professional look at this, would it be a drywall repairer or a painter?
Old 08-21-2011, 03:44 PM   #5

I went in the attic and there is insulation around the skylight, sheetrock enclosure. There is a vapor barrier on the insulation.